Lee Bay Hotel, Devon, Oct 2010
This site has been a real pain, and has been locked tight since it closed. We have visited it many times in the hope of easy access, but no such luck. Anyway we happened to be in the area one afternoon and thought we’d give it another look expecting to fail. To our surprise though an easy access was open and within seconds we were in, finally after weeks of trying.
The hotel closed around summer 2009 and is now awaiting development. The police use the hotel for dog training currently. The hotel will be transformed into a large holiday complex after it gained planning approval in September.
The plan is to refurbish and extend the main hotel with 19 apartments, restaurant and bar and create five new grass-roofed garden apartments in the grounds and a new enclosed swimming pool, gym, sauna and spa complex, with facilities open to residents within a two-mile radius.
History is a little vague on the site, but it was originally a manor house built in approx 1800’s. It was originally owned by M. Drake-Cutliffe who built the later Lee Bay Manor.
It was a great site to finally get around but wished we had of had more time and more light to explore it better. The site is pretty rundown now with a leaking roof which has damaged large areas. The rooms for the size of the hotel are extremely small by todays standards and the decor is a little 1970’s. All of which has probably led to the demise of the hotel.
Here are some pictures.