Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 'Defending Britain' by Mike Osborne Book Review

  1. #1
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    Canvey Island through and through!
    Posts
    88
    Thanked
    98

    Default 'Defending Britain' by Mike Osborne Book Review


    A few weeks ago I ordered the book ‘Defending Britain – Twentieth Century Military Structures in the Landscape’ by Mike Osborne for £13 from Amazon at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Defending-Britain-Twentieth-century-Structures-Landscape/dp/075243134X. I’ve had a good browse through, and have just begun to start reading it through thoroughly. It has 287 pages and is just under A4 size, and is full of pictures (though black and white) and text. It details a chronological history, detailing locations, dates, and defenses, of each type of defense per chapter, ranging from late 19th Century, to First and Second World Wars, to the Cold War. It also features a ‘gazette’, detailing the locations of good examples of various types of structure you can visit, and a pillbox recognition and feature guide at the back complete with details and diagrams.

    I’d give this book a four star due to plenty of pictures, info, and the extra gazette and identification guide. My only concerns would be lacking colour pictures, a map for the gazette, and a more bite-size text layout.

    This really is a great book which covers not just pillboxes, but other defences such as batteries and airfields e.t.c. and tells the story of the defences Britain took up through time.

    For a few pics of the inside pictures check them out here:

    http://beyondthepoint.co.uk/2012/01/...-mike-osborne/






    › See more like: 'Defending Britain' by Mike Osborne Book Review

    ----------
    Thanks given by: flyboys90, godzilla73, oldscrote

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Centre of England or near enough
    Posts
    5,470
    Thanked
    3470

    Default


    Thanks for that I,ll order one up.

    ----------
    Thanks given by: BTP Liam

  3. #3
    Join Date
    February 2011
    Location
    West Devon
    Posts
    138
    Thanked
    75

    Default


    That looks quite interesting... might be worth looking at getting a copy for myself, definitely a subject which is right up my street. Thank you
    My Flickr

    The past is never forgotten, sometimes it just lies dormant waiting for the right moment

    ----------
    Thanks given by: BTP Liam

  4. #4
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    Canvey Island through and through!
    Posts
    88
    Thanked
    98

    Default


    It's not the most casual of reads, but something well worth getting and taking a look at!

    ----------

  5. #5
    Join Date
    January 2009
    Location
    Durham
    Age
    43
    Posts
    1,621
    Thanked
    872

    Default


    mmmm I'll have to have a look at this one as its not in my collection yet. I've got pillboxes of Britain and Ireland by him which is quite good as well

    ----------

  6. #6
    Join Date
    August 2011
    Location
    Canvey Island through and through!
    Posts
    88
    Thanked
    98

    Default


    I think they're in the same rough 'series' or are at least of a similar sort of layout e.t.c. and design.

    ----------

  7. #7
    Join Date
    September 2005
    Location
    Bristol, UK.
    Posts
    7,613
    Thanked
    3994

    Default


    I've had a copy of this for a number of years now and it's well worth owning.

    ----------

  8. #8
    Join Date
    January 2009
    Location
    North Berkshire.
    Age
    63
    Posts
    3,114
    Thanked
    1380

    Default


    I got hold a of a copy of Ironsides line a while ago, this looks like it could be a good edition to use as well.

    ----------

  9. #9
    Join Date
    October 2006
    Age
    64
    Posts
    9
    Thanked
    1

    Default


    i got this one in 2005...
    but he has brought books on nearly every county,a good start for searching

    ----------

Similar Threads

  1. Book:- 'Fortress Britain' by Andy Saunders
    By Caveman in forum Reference Material
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th Oct 10, 11:41

About us
DerelictPlaces is a forum for people with an interest in the history and documentation of derelict and abandoned buildings to come together and share their experiences, photography and historical findings. Our military, industrial and historical heritage is fast disappearing under the pressure of regeneration, the need for new housing, and often through simple neglect; Our aim is to document these places before they disappear entirely.
Follow us