Forgotten Army Tanks

Derelict Places

Help Support Derelict Places:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TK421

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Reaction score
Last week I visited Hovingham Spa Quarry in North Yorkshire, and when I got home and had another look at Google, the abandoned quarry next to the one I had visited had some unusual shapes near it, in a field. So off I set this morning to see what they were, and if you like old army tanks, how do you like these fellas:

Not sure of the type, I know nothing about tanks, I am sure someone on the forum will offer their expertise:

DSC_0043-1.jpg

DSC_0044.jpg

I felt it was probably safe to take this photo :mrgreen:

DSC_0046-2.jpg

Tracks:

DSC_0054-1.jpg

Hook:

DSC_0060-1.jpg

Light:

DSC_0049.jpg

Been here for a while:

DSC_0059-1.jpg

Number:

DSC_0051.jpg

DSC_0047-1.jpg

Thanks for looking!

Intresting find. I'm no expert but they look Easterg Bloc'ish to me.

Not sure of the type, I know nothing about tanks, I am sure someone on the forum will offer their expertise:

Nice find :)

I'm no expert on tanks either, but I'd say they're almost certainly the same Russian made PT76 model as found at RAF Upwood. I probably wouldn't have recognised them if you hadn't posted the detail of the towing hooks, which I contemplated photographing in exactly the same way at Upwood!

Last edited:
I wonder who you would have to speak to about rescuing one of those PT-76's.

Know just where it would fit, and one of them looks to be good condition :)

Phil

images

Just googled pt76 tanks and they do look like they are the same. Would love to have one of them in my back garden. Any idea who ownes them

Excellent find, TK. Love your photos, especially the close-ups.
I know nothing about tanks at all but would love one in my back garden too, except that I've only got a balcony! :confused::mrgreen: