Sssshhh!

Derelict Places

Help Support Derelict Places:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spyder

Reaction score
Hi all I'm a newbie here, I stumbled across this forum looking for information on a local building. I have done a bit of urban (and rural) exploring in the past, without realising that was what I was doing. Nothing too adventurous though! Having browsed the site a bit, a number of other things came to mind, and I'll admit up front that I work in a library, so my opinion may be a teensy bit biased :mrgreen: :

• It immediately struck me what a great resource is being built here; the photos and information being gathered on places at risk. However, I was also struck by the number of threads only a year or so old where the photos no longer display. :cry:

• I also noticed a number of threads either professing a lack of knowledge about the subject building / place, or asking for more info.

Your local library service, and particularly local studies libraries/departments will be of huge value for researching your chosen building / site, as they have collections of old photographs, old large-scale and highly detailed OS maps, local newspapers and no end of other material. Analogue access is generally needed - you have to take the trouble to visit in person, but this in itself can be highly addictive, as piecing together info can be a bit like a treasure hunt, and you often encounter original sources that the people at Google have wet dreams about.

Even small neighbourhood libraries hold local history books (yourplace then and now, yourplace in old pictures, etc) and you can see what is available using your service's online catalogue. Many library services also offer free access to subscription info services such as the 19th century British newspapers, Ancestry or FindMyPast for census records, etc etc., all available by entering your ticket number.