Piercefield House and Estate, St Arvans, Chepstow

Derelict Places

Help Support Derelict Places:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jhluxton

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Reaction score
Piercefield House and Estate

I have been passing through the lower Wye Valley for many years and have started staying in the area for holidays at least a couple of times a year for some years now.

Piercefield House and Estate has long been on my list of “must visit” places for many years, but for various reasons I never managed to have the time to do a full explore.

However, on November 24, 2021, I was able to put this matter right and have a good look around. Having found much more material about features of the site whilst sorting out my photographs I will have to return next year.

There is a lot of history about Piercefield House and Estate online – therefore I will not repeat that here.

However, the estate has an interesting history worth investigating and it was one of those locations where the embryo British tourist had its roots back in Georgian times. The area around the house was landscaped and paths created along the cliffs of the lower Wye Valley overlooking the Lancaut Peninsular.

My walk took me from Wyndcliffe Car Park, along the wooded cliff path to Piercefield House, past the Stable Block and Walled Garden and down to the Lion Gates where I caught a bus back to the car.

Quite a few images of the house and stables have appeared over the years and in many it can be seen to be surrounded by a somewhat ramshackle block and mesh fence. This has clearly been recently replaced by a high, substantial security fence. The fence is so new it has not had time to tarnish and weather thus I guess it has been erected in the past couple of years at most.

The first feature one comes across when entering the estate from the Wyndcliffe Car Park is this structure