RNAS Worthy Down Pillbox Defences (Pic Heavy)

Derelict Places

Help Support Derelict Places:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hydealfred

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Reaction score
The pillboxes shown in the following post form part of the defences that were built in 1940 to protect the Royal Naval Air Station at Worthy Down Hampshire. I am no expert on pillboxes but I believe they are predominantly Type 22’s. Some of the boxes are accessible internally others not. The accompanying map shows the location of each box on the post.

The shots were taken in August 2010.

Location Map

Worthy.jpg

Pillbox No 1 located next to the former Didcot Newbury & Southampton Railway

DSC_2239.jpg

External Wall Detail

DSC_2241.jpg

Loophole detail - The inscription 715 RE on the lintel appears to relate to 715 General Construction Company - Royal Engineers

DSC_2231.jpg

Pillbox No 2 - again located next to the former Didcot Newbury & Southampton Railway

DSC_2723.jpg

Internal view of Pillbox No 2 - what is the square box structure ?

DSC_2256.jpg

Pillbox No 3 - very overgrown - not easy to get a good shot

DSC_2662.jpg

Internal view of loophole - Pillbox 3

DSC_2715.jpg

Pillbox No 4 - No internal access possible on this one

DSC_2727.jpg

View of the firing shelf hinges taken through a loophole

DSC_2269.jpg

Pillbox No 5 - In a poor state with subsidance and internal damage

DSC_2275.jpg

Ceiling reinforcement detail

DSC_2279.jpg

Internal view of No 5 - Note collapsed ricochet wall

DSC_2280.jpg

Further internal view towards the entrance to the pillbox

DSC_2282.jpg

Exposed concrete reinforcement detail

DSC_2793.jpg

Pillbox No 6

DSC_2293.jpg

Internal view towards the entrance - note whitewashed walls

DSC_2290.jpg

Pillbox No 7 - no internal access

DSC_2730.jpg

Further external view

DSC_2294.jpg

Internal view taken through a loophole

DSC_2298.jpg

Pillbox No 8

DSC_2300.jpg