Fascinated filmmaker seeks specific location...

Derelict Places

Help Support Derelict Places:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sbrewster

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I’ve been having a look through the site with great interest. I’m a filmmaker and I’m looking for a location to shoot in for a day in Feb. I'm sure that you get plenty of people asking this kind of thing, so apologies if it feels like an intrusion. I'm an independent filmmaker making this film on my own money — you can look me up (I also work as a freelance illustrator): Sam Brewster. The film I want to make is for a comp called straight 8. I made a film for the competition last year for it and it was one of the winners, so this would be my follow up. It's a 3 minute film all shot on one roll of 8mm film, in order (the final film is the same as what you shoot in order on the roll).

The story I want to make is set in the final days of a fictional war, and I'm looking for somewhere that could look like an abandoned administrate building or similar next to an active railway, preferably somewhere rural. For the practicalities of the film, the abandoned building needs to be next to a working railway line that has freight trains using it (to use the continuous sound of a train passing by). It’s a pretty specific location and I thought you guys might be able to help out.

Happy to travel to anywhere in the UK, though closer to London so it can be a day trip is preferable...

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance
Sam