Holbeck Culvert - Leeds - August 08

Derelict Places

Help Support Derelict Places:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KingElvis

Veteran Member
Veteran Member
Reaction score
Firstly, I am a total noob at drains and culverts but I though some people may want to see this.

I had a wander down the Holbeck Culvert back in August but have only just got round to having a look at the photos.

The culvert is very long and I only did a small section from the bridge at Springwell Road up to where it empties into the River Aire.

It's an interesting place but I lack both the equipment and experience to go further along. I would like to see more drains and culverts as I find them interesting. I didn't have a good torch then either but that has now changed.

This is where I started from.

http://www.flashearth.com/?lat=53.790042&lon=-1.558774&z=17.3&r=0&src=msl

The tunnel heading back under Holbeck, water was about 4ft deep here

IMG_0450CR2640x480.jpg

Water heading off towards the River Aire

IMG_0456CR2640x480.jpg

There were several waterfalls along the route, this one made from old car tyres

IMG_0475CR2640x480.jpg

Lots of nice Victorian engineering along here...

IMG_0469CR2640x480.jpg

Looking back up from Firestone Falls....

IMG_0480CR2640x480.jpg

You can walk most of the way without getting wet

IMG_0458CR2640x480.jpg

What I assume are Victorian drains from the streets

IMG_0487CR2640x480.jpg

These are holding the walls up at this point

IMG_0495CR2640x480.jpg

Severall nice bridges and roads go over the water

IMG_0500CR2640x480.jpg

Where the culvert reaches the river

IMG_0497CR2640x480.jpg

Thanks for looking :thumb​

It's a nice little walk that one. Let's hope it doesn't get tagged to buggery like the other culverts. It runs underground for a fair way, being called Low Beck, Wortley Beck and so on, named after the area it runs through.